How Have I Not Heard About This?: Just Another Day

If you know me, you know that The Wire is a way of life. I stand by it. I guarantee it (Frank Lucas voice). It is one of the all-time greatest things to ever happen to mankind, EVER! I took special notice when We Bey bodied Marlo in Paid in Full (the scene when Mitch and his goons took out the bul Duff). I was conflicted when I saw Bey and Omar (my favorite, PAUSE) were on the same team in Brooklyn’s Finest. Why would I not know that Marlo and Avon (also in Paid In Full coincidentally) were in the hip hop game together? Well the were. They co-starred in the movie, Just Another Day. Apparently, Marlo’s (Young Eastie) a young flamespitter on the come-up and wants to get on with Avon (A-Maze) who is top dog who is falling off i.e. [insert whoever here]. There are some interesting guest appearances. Among them are Ja Rule, Big Daddy Kane, Lil’ Scrappy, Trick Daddy, Esther Baxter, SP THE GHOST and you guessed it, Clifton Muthafuckin’ Powell (the only name you need for a certified hood classic). I’m expecting your run-of-the-mill “trash classic” hip-hop film, but I just can’t help myself. I’ll let you know how it is.

Leave a Reply

